FITNESS!!!!

     So… I like to start entries with So.. I tend to do it all the time. You may think its poor grammar and one day I might agree with you but for now, my blog my rules. Speaking of my rules. That is what this blog is going to be like. A place where I can break all the rules. If I want to post a recipe now and then or turn it into a food blog entirely that is what I will do. If I want to preach about anything under the sun to whoever stumbles across my page I will do that. You have the option of reading it so if you don’t like it respectfully disagree or discontinue your visits. This blog will be about whatever I choose but if I spend any more time trying to narrow it down its just not going to happen. It will lack organization and it may at times not even make sense, but its mine and I will express myself how I want. I have no writing style so if it seems like there are different people writing each entry its because I am 23 and I am changing at an unprecedented rate. I am not the same person I was a year ago and I won’t be the person I am today a year from now. So if you’re up for it, join me on my new adventure that is blogging. 

     As I said, I originally wanted to make this blog about food but… I I’m not currently making any amazing food because I am on a diet. Thats right people, a DIET. Now when I say diet don’t misunderstand me. I am 23 years old, 66 inches tall and I weigh 143 pounds. I am healthy and I feel confident with how I look… most of the time. When I say diet I mean nutritionally. I would like to loose some fat because I am still on the upper end of the healthy body fat spectrum and I still have problem areas that are not my favourite to look at in the mirror. Let me tell you a bit more about my fitness story. 

    My mom did my a solid and fed me good food since I was young. She was into brown bread instead of white, a fruit or veggie with every meal and allowed and encouraged me to be involved in sports. After I was hooked on sports the fitness part was easy to keep up. Through high school I was in at least one and sometimes two sports at once with daily practices and weekend tournaments. My mom kept up on feeding me good food and all was good until… I moved out and high school sports ended. On top of that I got hit with a diagnosis of psoriatic arthritis. So what happens when you have too much homework to get out of the house, your consumption of processed food and refined sugar is through the roof, and you cant even sit in a car for more then 10 minutes without being in pain? Needless to say I backed on more than the freshman 15 and it had nothing to do with binge drinking. In retrospect my arthritis was likely brought on by my poor diet combined with intense stress that comes with moving out, gaining roommates, and having some serious homework. Getting the arthritis under control took from February till July of the same year and at that point I was clinically overweight, and I stayed that way for the duration of my degree.  My real and true cognizant fitness journey started a little over a year ago when I weighed 170 pounds and sick of being disgusted with my appearance when I looked in the mirror. So I decided it was time to do something about it. But I was lazy… I wasn’t willing to buy a gym membership and give up eating mr. pickles. So I started simple. I got myfitnesspal app and set a goal of decreased daily calories and got to work not eating better but definitely eating less. Now in hindsight I realize that although I can surely be lazy at times taking on what I could realistically chew (pun intended) was likely the reason that I am sitting here a year later I have lost 26 pounds and have taken on a 12 week body building transformation in hopes of doing just that, building the body I want. Interestingly this lesson inspires me on to a new topic: Imperfect progress. I will discuss that more later. Anyways. Thats all for now. More on fitness next time. 

K

Leave a Reply

