More on that fitness thang

So.. I was briefly BRIEFLY discussing my new passion for fitness and health with my brother and law and he made the comment that he wonders if people overcomplicate their diets. He prefaced this comment with explaining himself as a caveat in that he has fabulous genes and has been committed to track since before high school. He also made this comment in reference to someone he knows who is vegan and has considerable health issues in spite of it. I understand where he is coming from and it remains to be seen where my research takes me into the land of dieting (more on the word diet later), but I had to disagree with the statement that people over complicate their diet. I feel that the reality is quite the opposite. Now living in the USA where obesity is an epidemic I feel that the tendency leans towards a “see food” diet rather than time spent calculating every micronutrient. I think many people over simplify their diet and consume in a rather unconscious way. And this not only applied to food but also to consuming stuff, creating waste, and even time. Im not advocating for a strict schedule where ever minute of ones life is accounted for however a certain consciousness of ones surroundings accompanied by a healthy dose of balance. Consider the things you are putting into your body because you are what you eat. Consider how you spend your time because you are defined by your actions. Consider how you treat the planet you live on because it is your home. Be conscious, learn balance, do your own research and come to your own resolve. Listen to your body. 

The other concept that keeps coming to mind as I am writing about fitness is that of imperfect progress. Imperfect progress was an idea that was presented to me just this year while driving to work. I was listening to K love and they were explaining it. I don’t remember exactly what the woman said but I took it to mean that improvement is still improvement. We are human and we make mistakes and we are rather incapable of absolutes. Taking positive steps with set backs is still progress. No reason to sit in the dust and watch the band wagon roll away. Its still driving even if you fall off and have to jump back on again… see where I’m going with this? For myself its something I first implemented in my spiritual life but it has spilled over into the rest of my life. Likely because ones spirituality is an essential part of ones being. My new lifestyle changes have sparked a new understanding for why God chose to put his creations in these well designed bodies. There is a connection. 

Thats all for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

